A Woman is not a homemaker!



(Photo courtesy of Clip Art Haven)

Yes, you heard that right. You are not a homemaker.

I am not trying to teach you heresy here. I am telling you what God says about you. Forget everything your mother ever told you about the role of the woman. Forget what society has told you. This is what God says: You are a Helper. Yes! A Helper. Not just a homemaker. And there’s a big difference between both.

As a helper, you are supposed to be stronger than the person you are trying to help, namely your husband. This is not a feminist teaching, if that’s what you are thinking. I’m only standing on what God says about women in his word. God said about Adam that he would make a helper suitable for him. For lack of a better word, Adam was a Helpee and Eve was a Helper. A Helper is one who helps. A solid Helper is one who is stronger than the Helpee. A Helper that is weaker than the Helpee is no longer a helper but a liability. And guess what? They’ll slow you down. Good helpers have to be flexible to help in whatever capacity they are needed. They have to be multi-taskers, prepared to handle whatever life throws at the Helpee.

Putting this in the context of a woman and a wife, it means that I have to attempt to improve on myself- intellectually, physically, emotionally and spiritually so that I can be of better assistance to my Husband such that the vision God has given him is well executed. If I cannot help my husband, it means I have failed in my role as a woman. As a wife, I have to be flexible and multi-tasking, not forcing my will or demands on my husband, but aligning myself such that God’s vision through him is fulfilled. Since I know that I am the helper, it is important for me not to marry any man that I will not be able to help. It is necessary for me to know before marriage what his visions/passions are, because if his visions are not in alignment with what God has developed inside me, I cannot help him. For example, some women are built in such a way that they love the fine things of life. It would be a disaster if such a woman married a poor man. They won’t be able to help him, but they’ll tend to criticize him and eventually become a liability. Another example is a shy woman. She will have difficulty helping a man who loves the spotlight and loves to jet everywhere with his wife. Also, a woman who is uneducated, regardless of how homely she is, may not be able to assist a top business executive. Therefore, as a helper, I really have to be very choosy about the kind of guy I decide to marry, because I’ll have to help him with things he cannot do by himself.

One of God’s visions for Man is that he reproduces. As a helper, in order to fulfill that vision, I have to carry my husband’s babies. My role then becomes baby-carrier. If my husband is hungry, and doesn’t know how to cook, he may require my assistance in making his meal and cooking for the children. Better yet, I may need to teach him (with humility, mind you) how to cook so he can be empowered in the art of caring for his children and himself. Another responsibly for Man is raising Godly children. Godly children have to be educated, eat well, live in a safe house, and wear decent clothes. Now, education is expensive. So are food, shelter and clothing. For that purpose, a husband whose take home pay is not enough to provide all these may need his wife to go to work and make some money so they can provide for their children. The wife then plays the helper role by holding a job. Some countries in war may not have enough men to fight the war. At that point, they’ll enlist the help of women to become soldiers. For other wives, their husbands may not need them in the workplace. Their area of need may be in handling the home front, at which point their primary role is housekeeper. Other men are in the ministry, and they may need their wives to be their pastors, encourager, and prayer warrior. Tudor Bismarck, that great bible teacher, will not travel without his wife. He calls his wife his cheerleader. She is always the first one to get up on the stage to introduce her husband and she doesn’t do this without sharing a word or two of encouragement and prayer. I’ve also seen some major Celebs who have their wives in the business as well. Look at Bill Cosby, the comedian. Guess who is his Manager? His wife. Why? Because that is where he needs her assistance the most. Not only as a homemaker, but also as his Manager.

So if you are a woman limiting yourself to being a homemaker and you tell yourself that your only role is being a homemaker, please think again. Nowhere in God’s word did God say about you that you are only a homemaker. Don’t be a cop-out. Don’t be one of those timid women who hide behind their husbands, who have been told that they are weak vessels. Rather, God says you are a helper: a woman with amazing strength, a powerful multi-tasker who can carry her husband, raise her children and move society to fear Him. You are an incredible creature who can metamorphose to everything and anything a man may never be, depending on where society needs you. You can be a Judge, a mother, a teacher, a soldier, a wife, an evangelist, a chef…you name it. However, you have to be helping, not lording it over the man. In fact, God knew of your great ability, that was why he had to command that you should be submissive to your husband. He knew that if he didn’t put you in check, you would arrogantly turn the world upside down and rough-shod your man. You are potent, dear Wife and Woman. Astounding. Powerful, and truly amazing! One of a kind! If you doubt me again, just check out Proverbs 31 and read about that excellent woman who is more than a homemaker.

I have to stop now. My hubby is requiring my input in fixing his computer. So now, I am his computer Engineer. Wow! How I just love being a woman. Tomorrow, I’m off my secular job in the hospital, at which point, I’ll primarily be a housekeeper and baby sitter for my three kids. Oy! Wish me luck.

About ldparables

The Storyteller. Follow my parables on youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_i_77_EZ71THxs5MMjloGQ
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Woman is not a homemaker!

  1. Tolu says:

    Lara, you are a gift to the world and your family, thank you for reminding me my roles as a woman.

Leave a comment